14 September 2010

low income

Before I begin my rant, I want to talk about my weekend. Nothing interesting happened. I studied and was extremely tired on Sunday.
Ok. According to fafsa, I make too much money to receive substantial aid. The most I can get is $555. Which doesn't really help much to be honest. So I checked my mail this weekend. The normal junk and bills were there. No surprise. But I also had a white envelope with a random return address. I thought it is either a bill from a collection agency or a credit card. My second assumption was partially right. It was a prepaid Mastercard! According to the pamphlet, "managing your life and your money is easier with the prepaid Mastercard." Wow. I didn't fucking know my life could be much easier. All I have to do to make it work is to set up some sort of direct deposit (bc I'm poor and can't open a savings/checking acct at the bank). And I don't have to worry about unauthorized transactions as long as I promptly report my card lost or stolen. Thank you, Dan Henry, CEO of Netspend Corp, I don't know how I would have managed without you or payday loan offices.
Anyway, I was being sarcastic for anyone that couldn't pick up on that. The card is a total ripoff. You are charged a monthly fee to use the card. I think I was sent the card because I live in a neighborhood that is considered low income. I'm sure anyone on the other side of town was sent this bullshit. Just because I don't live in a nice home does not mean I am stupid. I really wish people wouldn't make assumptions without doing research.
O-U-T peace.

No comments:

Post a Comment